Pizza Mushrooms

Pizza! Or may as well be.

I wasn’t going to post this because I only snapped one quick photo for myself and it certainly does not do these little wonders justice.  But after tasting these, and then the hubs telling me that I MUST make them again, I decided to make you suffer from my less than desirable photography.  One, so I won’t forget and two so my Keto buddies will have access to this recipe.  If you have a hankering for pizza but don’t want the dough, these will save the day.

Ingredients:

  • white button mushrooms
  • cream cheese
  • pesto
  • pepperoni
  • grated cheese (whatever kind you like – I had cheddar and Parmesan on hand)
  • Marinara or Pizza Sauce

Tip:  Make pesto when basil is fresh and in season, freeze in mini cupcake paper liners for quick and easy use year round!

Directions:

  1. Wash mushrooms, remove stems.
  2. Dice some of the pepperoni into small pieces, reserve enough whole pieces to top mushrooms
  3. Combine softened cream cheese and pesto.  Stir in diced pepperoni.
  4. Fill mushrooms with cream cheese mixture
  5. Top each mushroom with a pepperoni and Marinara
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for about 30 minutes or until the mushrooms are done
  7. Remove from oven, top with cheese, place back in oven until cheese is melted

Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

