Chocolate Coconut Patties

Chocolate Coconut Patties

I don’t eat the Standard American Diet anymore.  Eating real, whole, healthy food and staying away from fast food, sugar and junk food has proven to be a great success over the last year.  However, eating differently from family, friends and co-workers can be pretty challenging at times.  I can’t depend on the snack isles of my grocery store for treats anymore.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t have some very tasty foods.  No sir, there is a world of goodness to be had.  And I thank all the folks who post all their awesome, healthy recipes.  This is one I depend on and the whole family loves!  I found this recipe from The Frugal Greenish Mama and put my own spin on it.

This recipe makes 32 – 1 Tablespoon Coconut Patties

Ingredients:

  • 1/4 Cup of Coconut Oil plus 1 Tbsp MCT oil (MCT oil is optional)
  • 3/4 Cup Nutiva Coconut Manna
  • 3 Tbls Swerve Sweetener
  • 1-3/4 Cups unsweetened shredded coconut
  • Chocolate chips (Most times I use Lily’s Stevia sweetened chocolate chips)Lilys-Dark-Chocolate-Premium-Baking-Chips-856481003180

Directions:

First of all, if it is the first time I’ve opened the jar of Coconut Manna, I spoon it all out into a bowl and stir it together until the separated oil and the coconut is well blended.  I then measure 3/4 cup for this recipe and put the rest back in the jar (and the jar in the fridge).

  1. Combine coconut oil, MCT oil, and coconut manna in a bowl.  Stir in sweetener.
  2. Add coconut 1/2 at a time.  Stir to combine after each addition.
  3. Cover a cookie sheet with wax or parchment paper.  Spoon mixture onto sheet into 1 tablespoon balls.  Place in the freezer to harden.
  4. Melt chocolate by placing an oven-proof glass bowl over a pot of simmering water.  Pour about a cup of chocolate chips into the glass bowl and stir while they melt.  I add a tablespoon of MCT oil to help the chocolate thin for easier dipping and because it’s an awesome way to get more MCT oil in my diet.
  5. Remove coconut patties from freezer and dip in melted chocolate to cover.  I use two spoons for this.  I place the patties, 5 at a time, into the bowl of chocolate.  Turn with the spoon to coat.  Pick up with one of the spoons and push back onto the cookie sheet with the other spoon.
  6. Refrigerate until chocolate hardens.  Place in a container to keep in the fridge until ready to serve.

Coconut Patties ready to go into freezer

Covering these with chocolate can be messy business.  But oh so worth it!

These are NOT Nacho and Salsa approved! Doggies can not have chocolate. But they let me have them.

Leave a Reply

