Salsa Verde Chicken Enchiladas

Salsa Verde Chicken Enchiladas

I believe I say everything is a favorite here, and it is, that’s why I post it.  But this dish has to be my all time fav!  First of all I have a thing for poblano peppers.  I love them in quiche, stuffed, chili rellenos, you name it – I want it.  Also I try to use the freshest, high quality ingredients and that is always the makings for a delicious dish.  I started with a pastured chicken from Peaceful Pastures Farms in Zephyrhills purchased at the Fresh Market at Wiregrass.  I roasted the chicken, cooled and diced into small pieces.  This entree only takes about 1-1/2 to 2 cups of chicken.  I’m still considering what to do with the rest.  Perhaps some chicken salad?  I’ll be using the Savory Low Carb Crepes I made last week.

enchilada ingredients1

Ingredients:

  • 10 Low Carb Crepes (recipe link Savory Low Carb Crepes)
  • 1-1/2 cups of diced, cooked chicken (I didn’t really measure, just used enough to fill crepes)
  • 8 ounces Mexican Blend cheese (shredded)
  • 3 green onions (sliced and set aside)
  • 1 large poblano (diced and sauteed in butter)
  • 8 ounces tomatillo Salsa
  • 1/2 cup sour cream

Directions:

Place a small amount of chicken and cheese on a crepe, season, roll up and place in casserole dish.  Repeat until all the crepes are used.  Save some of the cheese for topping.

Mix salsa, sour cream and chilies in a separate bowl.  Pour on top of crepes.  Top with remaining cheese and green onions.

Bake at 350 degrees for 20 to 30 minutes until bubbly.

Such cheesy goodness!

Leave a Reply

