Savory Low Carb Crepes

Savory Low Carb Crepes

Sometime back in the late ’70’s my grandparents indulged my Christmas wish for a crepe maker.  I’ve been using my trusty Creperie ever since for our traditional Christmas morning cheese blintzes.  I’m pulling this baby out more than once a year after discovering this low carb version of crepes.  These crepes make the best Green Chile Enchiladas ever!  Enchilada recipe coming soon.

Circa 1976 Crepe Maker…still going after all these years!

Ingredients:

  • 3 oz organic regular cream cheese (softened)
  • 5 eggs
  • 2 Tbs coconut flour
  • 1 Tbs almond flour
  • Salt and pepper to taste

Directions:

  1. In a food processor or blender, blend cream cheese until smooth.  Add eggs one at a time blending as you go.  Add coconut flour and almond flour, blend, scrape down the sides and blend again.
  2. Pour batter into a shallow pie plate.  Preheat crepe maker.  Dip crepe maker lightly into batter.  It takes a little practice to get the right amount of batter on the crepe maker.  The first one never seems to turn out…even with traditional flour crepes.  Cook until sides turn a little crispy and middle is done.  Doesn’t take very long – but I’ve never actually timed it.  I always have a spatula handy to loosen the edges while the center cooks.  Turn cooked crepe onto a plate and continue loading crepe maker with batter and cooking, stacking the crepes as you go.
  3. Fill or top with your favorite things!

Makes 11 crepes

1 crepe = 69 calories, 5 g fat, 1 g carbs, 1 g fiber, 4 g protein, 1 g sugar

I looked on Amazon to see if they still make the Oster Creperie.  Not that I thought they would after so many years.  But I did find this one:  CucinaPro Cordless Crepe Maker

Update:  The last couple of times I tried making these, my crepe maker seemed like it was too hot (there is no adjustment) and the batter would not hold to the pan.  I was forced to try making them in my 8″ non stick skillet.  This worked pretty well by oiling the pan, adding about 1-1/2 tablespoons of batter, swirling the batter to cover the pan, cooking for a minute and flipping once cooked enough to do so.  They weren’t as thin as making on the crepe pan, but worked just fine.

Happy cooking!

One thought on “Savory Low Carb Crepes

Leave a Reply

